RSS Feed

Ten Things I Like: Belgian Waffles


As I sit on the 6 hour train from Amsterdam to Berlin, I drift in and out of sleep, and think of my journey thus far. I spent two days in Brussels and a full day in Brugge before heading to the Netherlands. It was an absolutely beautiful country. I particularly liked Brugge, but Brussels’ beauty is nothing to be scoffed at.

Brussels
20120719-174322.jpg

Brugge
20120719-174258.jpg

When in Brussels, the weather was miserable, highs in the 50s and rain both days. But that didn’t stop us from seeing the city and its major sites. (So glad I invested in a serious rain coat just a few days before this trip, at the insistence of my frustratingly well informed boyfriend.) Luckily, in Brugge, the rain held out for most of the day, and I was even able to put on flip flops, though my toes weren’t happy about this by the end of the day.

There was lots to see, do and, of course, eat. I don’t have much time left before I get to Berlin, so I’ll cut right to it. One of the first things I learned there, and possibly most important: Belgian waffles are unbelievably delicious. I had seriously low expectations, I mean really, it’s a freaking waffle, how good can it be? But, it was that good. Like SO good. The waffles themselves are dense and sweet, seemingly cooked with honey or something else as delectably wonderful. And, when you get a hot one right out of the oven, there is nothing more mouth watering.

I was told by the man who ran our hotel that there was no need to get anything on the waffle, no bananas, whipped cream, chocolate of any kind, just the waffle and some sugar. I begrudgingly obliged. Definitely the right call.

20120719-173713.jpg

The waffles are enough on their own, they don’t need to be masked by fresh fruit or chocolate. Don’t get me wrong, I tried them a bunch of different ways, white chocolate, caramel, fruit and whipped cream, and it was all delicious, but frankly too much. So, basically, if you’re only I’m belgium for 1 hour and can only handle 1 waffle, make sure it’s plain. You wont regret it. (yea I know, so likely to happen.)

Oh, and the best thing about this sweet treat?? It’s super cheap! 1 or 2 euros for a plain one (just sugar) and around a euro more for the ridiculous toppings….

And with that, I’ll leave you with a few mouth watering photos! Until next time….

20120719-145735.jpg

20120719-145839.jpg

20120719-145858.jpg

20120719-150406.jpg

3 responses »

  1. I do love Belgium too but somehow I didn’t get the chance to eat waffles that much. I guess I need to go back.

    Reply
  2. Looks so yummy! I am jealous!

    Reply

What do YOU think?

